Choose

Joshua 24:15 – “Choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve. But as for me and my house we will serve the Lord”

Why do we always seem to forget the first part of this verse? I always see home decor with “as for me and my house we will serve the Lord” but I think we are missing the most crucial part to this verse when we do that.

CHOOSE THIS DAY

Serving the Lord (and other versions of the Bible say “worship the Lord”) and worshiping Him is. a. daily decision. Every morning, choose. Every conversation, choose. Every decision and desire – choose. Are you giving into yourself ? Or are you surrendering ?

It’s hard to deny yourself. It’s so hard not to get dissolved into our culture of “more” and “faster” and “me”. It’s a struggle everyday to evaluate my emotions and feelings and ambitions and lay them out before God and say “does this serve You or me? Does this benefit Your kingdom or mine?”

So yeah, “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord”, but what about right now?

When it hurts, when it sucks, when following and serving the Lord and aiming to live selflessly is painful and lackluster, when it’s not YOUR desire, choose.

Guess what? Sometimes it is painful. Following Him can go against our very nature. That’s why it’s important to evaluate and to spend time with Him. It’s imperative to be in His word to see what He says. When it’s gray and we aren’t sure, that’s why we sit still and pray – to listen. A lot of the time for me, choosing looks like waiting. Choosing looks like being quiet. Choosing looks like surrendering and saying “not my will but Yours, not my desire but Yours.”

Choose this day, who you will serve.

2 thoughts on “Choose

Leave a comment